Annie and Chris

By AnnieAndChris

My Life My Choice

I (Annie) had a day off today. I had been invited to go to a local charity's Olympic-themed AGM to speak about being an Olympic Torchbearer and hand out prizes. Correction: the torch was the main attraction as always, and I made myself useful talking and prize-giving whilst I was there with it. It's a good thing Chris reminded me to actually pick the torch up on leaving the house (nearly a big oops!!)...

It was a fabulous bunch of people and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. The charity is called "My Life My Choice" and it's "a self-advocacy charity run by and for people with learning disabilities". It's been a long time since I've seen a roomful of such motivated and driven people, working hard to make a difference. I was particularly taken with their campaign against Hate Crimes - listening to the descriptions of the abuse people can suffer just because they have learning disabilities was very moving. There's just no excuse. They're campaigning at all levels - all the way to Westminster. They also help people on a more individual level, such as to feel confident using public transport and so to be more independent. They even run a radio station!

Once the torch had been handed round and photographed, I escaped out of my "white pyjamas" (see that torchbearer uniform) and headed back to Aylesbury for parents' evening at the school. Fabulous as a governor to have the opportunity to speak to parents.

Finally I headed over for school governor training on the new Ofsted framework. Lots to fill my already full brain with!

Back home at 10pm, after a very busy day off!

I'm confusing those who've noticed the exif way of telling who took the picture: I used Chris' camera today. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.