Green56

By Green56

A new walk

On Saturday at the fete I spoke to someone who knew the history of Crooke. I asked where the old John Pit was. He told me so today I went in search! I met many dog walkers and sat at this pond to wait and see what wildlife might appear and it was these 3 dogs. Two were fantastic swimmers and chased after branches the third didnt like swimming. There was evidence all around that there had been a pit, plenty of small piles of slag left over. I did get lost but eventually found my way out and walked on into Crooke then down the canal as it was lovely and shaded. I had walked 4 and a half miles in the end and taken lots of photos. A small collage in extras. I've never seen the canal path so dry and where the cyclist is, it is usually a bog that I have to avoid but for the first time ever I walked along it. A quiet afternoon reading and a bit of gardening. I've cut down a mildewed honeysuckle, hope the cats dont make the most of the empty fence and ground. I need something to go in its place but I will wait till its cooler. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.