crabtree

By crabtree

English to the max!

Today I feel like I have covered several bases from the book of quintessential Englishness, sort of! I started the day off with a baking hot country walk around Stanton Drew stone circle. I was lucky enough to coincide with a group of Morris dancers having a dance right in the middle of the circle. Like most things, neolithic history is definitely improved with folk music and dancing! I love it when you drive to a small village and see that kind of thing going on, it feels worlds away from city life and is great to see. Next stop was Watching England win their world cup match, surprisingly easily which maybe isn't that English?! Having some daylight hours left afterwards I drove to the sea for another walk and finished it off with fish and chips on the promenade, job done. Although I feel I should have squeezed an ice cream in somewhere to really tick all the boxes! Maybe tomorrow.

NB. I am now having thoughts of becoming a morris man

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.