Photo-a-day retirement

By mpp26

Swallow's nest

Found this nest some time ago, but thought it had been abandoned. However today when I walked past, I saw a swallow fly in under the eaves, so went to check - maybe they have moved in! The bird wasn't in the least concerned about me, which was nice, but I only stayed to take a couple of shots and then moved on - didn't want to spook it.

They are a self introduced bird, coming from Australia (unlike most of the traffic with people, which goes from NZ to Australia!).

Scientific name Hirundo neoxena

didn't enjoy the walk as much as usual as there were two very large dogs roaming through the reserve, no sign of owners or collars, and they both looked very aggressive. I'm a real scaredy cat when it comes to big dogs, and I suppose they know it. They followed me for some time which unnerved me! Plus they shouldn't have been in the reserve at all, chasing birds and frightening them too. I wish some dog owners understood the damage their pets can do and looked after the pets better. When I went back to the car they were running on the road - not fair to dogs or people. Rant over!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.