Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Heavy Jumping Spider

Hyllus cf giganteus

I gave up trying to find information on this mammoth jumping spider, as the first ten pages of Google were all videos and collectors showing off their arachnids. But, what can you say anyway, it is a jumper, extremely fast and very big. Big enough to take the chip off yesterday's ant!

At ¾" long, not the biggest in the world, but you wouldn't want to find it in your bath tub.

When I first saw it, the thing scampered under the leaf to hide. She has excellent eyesight and saw me coming long before I saw her. In the past, I have tried to chase them back onto the top of the leaf, but invariably they just jump away, never to be seen again.

A different ploy today, I stood and waited. A minor setback when the farmer came past after ten minutes and wanted to see my pics. Five minutes after he left, she started to come out. She obviously wanted to be on top of the leaf, so I waited another five minutes before starting the session.

The bush was hanging over the 20ft ravine to the stream, so I could not get in close comfortably. With the camera on the monopod and the strap around my neck, I pushed the camera forward to the extent of the strap. I could still see through the viewfinder for focusing, but framing was a lottery. I collected sixty shots and left her undisturbed.

A lot of wastage, but I was happy with the result, considering the difficulties.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.