Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

All Blacks!

An exciting day of rugby! The legendary All Blacks in town. I've been to Eden Park decades ago, but never went to any other games, although I followed it avidly while living in NZ. One of my ex pupils made it to the Sevens team, although I cannot claim to have anything to do with that. And Jonah Lomu came to my school.

Great atmosphere at the stadium, lots of Kiwis to chat to - you could spot them because of the scarves and flags! Managed to squash in to see the teams arriving. I could have rushed to hug Dan Carter before they could have stopped me! There was a pipe band, but the Kiwis were all wearing their own headsets, so it wouldn't have put them off too much.

Great game - it was so exciting when Scotland got the first try!! I wished I'd had a £10 bet on that one - the odds must have been a million zillion to one! BUT I was really really disgusted with the booing when Carter kicked for goal. What is that about? I kept shouting 'Stop that!' to those around me, to no avail. The announcer eventually came on and said that we should respect all the players and not to boo, which did stop it a bit. Absolutely pathetic, not to mention embarrassing.

Apart from that, the Scots played well, and NZ won, so we were happy. But I do think they should scrap those scrums - what a waste of time - and just have a throw up like they do in netball. I think I'll write and suggest this to whoever is in charge. It's tedious to watch.

On the way home, I fondly thought we could get a bus into the West End. Er, no. If you could get on a bus -and they were packed - they weren't actually moving. Nothing was. The 40,000 crowd just walked along the roads, and all the traffic was at a standstill.

Of course, thanks to the tramworks, there was a huge diversion and we had to walk miles and miles out of our way. I am SO tired.

Took loads of photos. I've chosen the haka. I wish they'd been facing me, though. But we had them at our end for the pre-match warmup, and so I've got lots of shots of Richie McCaw. I've got one of him looking at me!! in my direction!! He can get his legs up really high.

I'm off to read the Kiwi news reports of the match. Hope they don't mention the unsporting boo-ing of the Murrayfield crowd.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.