Verdant Veils

Today I was reminded why my heart and soul lie in landscapes. The low sun provided shadows and light at every turn, gleaming off the Rivers Wharfe and Skirfare and casting long deep shadows across the grass and rock.

Haphazard patchwork fields feeding life, bordered by walls of mossy silver. I used to imagine that if you knocked down one of the walls then a domino effect would ensue, felling all the walls in Yorkshire in a clatter. I'd see hardy men in flat caps, tweeds and smoking pipes, border collie laid but alert, watching the walls fall, expressions not changing until it was over, then with a barely perceptible sigh, 'Aye up. Best get this fixed then. Walls won't build 'emselves ya know!'

We walked from Arncliffe over to Kettlewell where we had lunch, before walking the round-about route back. Leisurely but at a good pace. Air crisp and clean, enough views to see me through till next time, but appetite whetted to beg for next time to be soon.

A couple more that nearly made the blip;

Into the Valley

Autumn Reflections

Thank you for the love for my cow - I can't resist a good cow blip! My own comments have again been few and far between, which makes me even more grateful that you're commenting back. I am trying to catch up - getting there slowly but while we've had such beautiful weekends like this one, I've had no choice but to get out and enjoy it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.