Beautiful but stunted

Dear Diary,

My Joe Pye Weed is in full bloom and it is beautiful but it is a least 12 inches shorter than it was last year.  The drought has certainly had an effect on everything in the garden this year.  I am not getting much of a show from the phlox either.  They had said we would be getting rain this morning but so far no sign of it.

Emerson and I are just taking it easy this weekend.  After my busy but wonderful time in Boston it is good to just do nothing.  There is an art to doing nothing I think.  The first step is to get over the feeling that you are "wasting" time.  Emerson has no problem with that but after 30+ years of teaching I sometimes think I must be accomplishing something all the time.  I'll get over that and sit on the porch and finish my book, hopefully, while listening to the rain on the roof!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.