Life on the edge...

By bru22

Day 87 - Price Tag

Today we started off in the B&B hotel near Herne which was much the same as last nights hotel. All of these chain hotels are so similar I forget I am even in a different city!

We travelled to Bonn where we had a short busking session before heading to an amazing frozen yogurt shop. I have found a new heaven! This place was just amazing. It was a serve yourself with different flavours of yogurt as well as loads of toppings! Whatever weight you ended up with was the price...

I had natural frozen yogurt with raspberries, blueberries, strawberries, raspberry coulis, fudge pieces, which chocolate flakes and a white chocolate sauce!!... It was heavenly!!

I had an hour and a half to myself so decided to take a trip to a sanitatshaus (walk in physiotherapist) to see if I could get some advice and potentially a new brace for my knee... Compared to the UK, I thought this trip would mean I would be clocking up the bill the minute I walked in... I was so wrong!!

I was seen straight away by a lady who treated me like a patient at a GP's surgery. She examined my knee and did various checks on it's mobility to say the least I failed most of these... Considering I could hardly let her touch my knee cap without it being agony I wasn't her easiest customer I am sure!... She gave me some not very nice advice on what is wrong with it and said she would be surprised if at some point I haven't worn right through the cartilage under my patella... I tried on a few knee braces which were amazing, German design is soooo good!... The one I wanted which fitted best was a whopping 122.00 Euros!!!! Needless to say I didn't go ahead and buy one!! For the sake of another 3 weeks of tour I thought I would just deal with the one I have until I can get to my own doctor. Not a very pleasant experience as she didn't say what I hoped she would say - just rest and it will get better - but instead, 3 weeks is not long and I can get it seen to...

We travelled on to Cologne where I had my first Donner teller kebab. My first and last!!! This is what most of the band live on and I never really cottoned onto it. Ok, the rotating meat in Europe is actually real meat as opposed to the fake kebab rubbish you get in the UK but still..just no... I'll stick to pommes and salad!

We are now in a slightly strange hostel on an extremely solid bed after having a heated practice session. Dec, Tibi and I went out for a walk which is where we found this building. Seconds around the corner! The Dom! As I got into my bed, inbetween the gap in the curtain I had a stunning view of it which made me smile. It is absolutely stunning and very powerful!


"We need to take it back in time
When music made us all unite
And it wasn't low blows and video hoes
Am I the only one gettin' tired?
Why is everybody so obsessed?
Money can't buy us happiness
Can we all slow down and enjoy right now
Guarantee we'll be feelin' alright"


Jessie J

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.