Not every day

By ppatrick

Old friends and new

Ceridwen and I first met Gill in 1974 when we started a Master's course together. We stayed in touch for twenty years, while she moved on from social work to qualify as a GP, and we raised our two sons. She came down from Manchester to visit us in Oxford pretty well every year, but never visited after we moved to Wales and we gradually lost touch. When I got the job in Preston five years ago I thought I would contact her again, but it never happened until this year (thanks to Ceridwen). Here we are after a stonking lunch at the Three Fishes, Gill with her long-standing husband Pete who I had never met, the photo taken by my very new friend Avital who Gill had of course never met. A nice combination of old friends and new... Gill and Pete are planning to retire next year, which makes me think I should feel old, but I don't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.