All that is beautiful

By sharob

Reflections and Change

What a difference a day makes!

My last blip was about going to lunch with a friend, a friend whom I've known for the last 10 years. Obviously, I'm a little down at the moment, he's been lending a sympathic ear .. Yesterday, he absolutely insulted me. I don't think I can forget the insult, as coming from him, it was pretty strong.

I had Clara's parents evening, I have a few issues with the teacher but the teacher filled the time with waffle so I didn't get to speak out. Clara is doing great. No-one cares what reading level she's on, or what she's doing well - that's what I'm finding out recently. She's just doing well.

I explained why I was upset about our meeting to my friend and he responded rather sarcastically. I didn't know what to say, but then he said that I'd sounded like a Middle Class Daily Mail parent. Those words stung me, and have echoe'd around my mind since last night. I cannot shake them off. I'm NOT a pushy mother, I do want Clara to enjoy school and I do encourage her. But I know in my heart, that I am not pushy.

Clara is a bright little girl, and I think it's only right that I help her as much as I can, isn't that my role as a parent? Isn't that what I'm supposed to do? Becuase by the looks of it, I'm supposed to sit back, and let school take care of my childs entire educational needs.

The Middle Class Daily Mail parent comment was so below the belt coming from him. I know it's only a comment. But it hurt me. So much. But suddenly, a lot of things that he's said to me make perfect sense. He's been trying to shake me off for some time. He doesn't want my friendship.

An instant moment of clarity, it cured me of some demons. I feel much clearer, ready for battle. I see a long road ahead. But I can do it. I don't know people who don't want to be part of my life. I was hanging on for the sake of having a friend. Someone I don't need.

Anyyyyyyway. I went for a walkabout with one of my photographer friends. We just walk and snap .. I loved the reflection in the puddle. I didn't like trekking the waterlogged fields but I love this pic! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.