IF LOOKS COULD KILL

This afternoon I had an appointment at the vets for Tigerlily to have her yearly booster injection. Appointment was for 2.30pm. Due to get a bus at 2.15pm so I was all ready to go by about 5 past. Just Tigerlily to get into her cat carrier at the last minute.

However Tigerlily wasn't having any of it. Had sprayed Feliway in the carrier to hopefully calm her down once she was in but would she go in - would she heck. She hates being picked up at the best of times so I knew I would have trouble. Tried to hold her and put her in the carrier - she scratched and squirmed and ran off. This was repeated many times. Got a towel and managed to wrap her up but by the time I reached the carrier and let go of her to put the lid on she had broken free. Repeated this a few times till I realised I was getting nowhere - and she was getting more stressed.

By this time I had missed the bus so I phoned the vet to let them know I wouldn't get there by 2.30pm. They said it was Ok just to come when I could. Asked for advice on getting her in the carrier. Told to wrap her in a large towel and make sure her head was covered. So.... ... here goes....... managed to get near her (not easy as by this time she was so stressed out she ran off as soon as I approached ) and wrapped the towel around her - including her head. Dashed as fast as I could to the carrier and shoved her in - none too gently but by this time I was desperate. Whew - she was in and the lid was down. She was not amused and set about wailing at the top of her voice.

So we set off for the next bus which duly arrived ---- packed to the door with kids from the local comprehensive school. This was 2.30pm - they usually get let out at 3.20pm so I wasn't expecting the bus to be full of them. So for the short journey of 4 stops I had to stand at the very front of the bus next to the driver. Surprisingly Tigerlily was silent on the bus. Worn out I guess.

The vet visit went off without a hitch - Tigerlily sat there as good as gold - not exactly friendly but then she never is with anyone except me. The bus journey home was much more pleasant and we got a seat. Once indoors I quickly took this blip shot and let her out of the carrier. She hid away for about half an hour before coming and rubbing up next to my leg. I was forgiven. Then she went to sleep - I expect she is tired out. I have an arm full of scratches but at least I managed to get her to the vets today - something which was in serious doubt at one stage. Hopefully she won't need to go again until this time next year.

This evening I am off to my brothers. Its his 58th birthday today. So I probably won't have time to do many comments. Will catch up tomorrow when I'm back from Asda.

Box update.... Neil took 13 away this morning and he popped home and took another few tonight. There are only 8 left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.