One of three

The tide was ebbing fast in the middle of the afternoon, and I figured that might be a good time for waders. There were herons, masked lapwings, oystercatchers, pied stilts and on my way back, three Tuturiwhatu (New Zealand Dotterels). Gulls as always, and also the common little pied shag. Many Kotare (kingfishers). When I first got down the Southend of Snells Beach, eight black swans decided to leave, and swam majestically away. As I got back to the Beachhouse, my attention was caught by a Tui singing in a tree just opposite. The light and shade was against a decent photo as was my inept focus.

Although, I did get the focus right for this photo of one of the Tuturiwhatu. Another one had none of the rufous breast feathers, and was smaller. I think it is probably a juvenile bird.

Mother in law is stable again. S and her brother and I are going out for a meal at a local brewery. Most people will be watching the Super Rugby final. 

I've come back to add an extra photo. I am quite pleased with the photo of a Kotare (kingfisher)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.