creative lenna

By creativelenna

Bookshelf

Day 4 for the #augustbreak2018 project: #Bookshelf
I was drawn to take photos of the small shelf where I keep books related to my great uncle, William James Glackens. He was an American Impressionist, 1870-1938. I am named after his daughter, Lenna. 

Two books here have "The Eight" in their titles. William Glackens was a member of this group and exhibited in a landmark exhibition of Urban realism in New York City in 1908. He and the other members were led by their teacher, Robert Henri, who wrote "The Art Spirit" - which is also on this shelf and a wonderful book!

If you look closely you'll see 2 books about my great uncle published by the Museum of Art in Fort Lauderdale, FL ... and there's one more book by the same museum that is so big it sits on top of the bookshelf! Lots of wonderful paintings and drawings inside these books from some of the exhibits of his work. This museum holds the bulk of Glackens art, as his son Ira bequeathed his own extensive collection when he passed away with no heirs. There are also a number of books on that shelf written by Ira, an excellent writer. I have read most of them and learned a lot.

His sister Lenna, my namesake, was an artist and writer as well. She wrote a book that sits on this shelf, "I want to be a Columnist". It was published in 1947, four years after she died at age 29.

A few other books round out the selection on this shelf; it's one of my favorite bookshelves!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.