I'm only here for the bier...

The title harkens back to when advertising presented dreadful brown chemicals as something worth drinking. Beer's different now, eh. Eh?

A day in the life... begins with a phone call from a parishioner reporting the water butt in the churchyard is upturned. Not that there's likely to have been any water in it, but I want to get it put right before this weekend's downpour.

On the way up the hill I spot workmen moving soil around a tree I'm pretty sure is protected by a TPO. I approach them and mention the likelihood impact to the root protection area but they assure me "it's not this tree that's protected". A quick phone call or two and I'm proved right.

A few hours spent updating risk assessments for the upcoming Druid Camp and ensuring we've got all the complicated bits sorted out. I'm looking forward to a few days of fun and relaxation with likeminded folk in a lovely wooded venue next week.

Later today the decision will be made on around £140k of development mitigation money (called Section 106), which will allow the playing field to be augmented with a running track and some adult outdoor gym equipment.

The picture shows the old funeral bier in St James's at the top of the village, that was used for many years to transport the coffin from the road through the church to the churchyard. Not much of a brake on there, considering the slope...

And it's only lunchtime. Off for tennis now. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.