David - My lovely uncle

I've made the exception today of posting a main photo taken last night and the extra photo today.

David was determined that we'd go out for dinner last night and there was to be no argument about who was paying. You could say he's as stubborn as ever ;-)

It was a splendid evening with top notch food and the company of David and my cousin Mike. It was a huge effort for David and he did well, including dessert.

I've been bleesed with wonderful uncles with each having a role in my life. David and his family lived nearby and he's been a big part of my life.

It's been a day of sadness, laughter, pragmatism, gentleness, privilege, and tom-foolery. All wrapped up in love which is what these sorts of times are about.

Today I flew home and the extra photo show Mts Ruapehu, Ngaruhoe, Tongariro, and in the distance Taranaki.

The central north island looked splendid as did the top half of the south island. I waved to family in Palmerston North, Waikanae, and Wellington.

Today's gratitude: For the sorrow and tiredness I feel tonight. I'm deeply grateful for being able to visit David and my cousins Mike and Alison. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.