Thank you, Jackie

Mom's hairdresser managed to fit her in this morning for her wash and blow-dry.  She has been doing Mom's hair for quite a few years now and is always immensely kind to her.  Mom must have felt so much better for having her hair washed.  I would have done it this afternoon, but I'm not too good on the old blow drying.  I did have to go and get her up at 11.15 and we were a few minutes late  getting there, but I felt it was an achievement!  Mom and Dad came for tea today. Mom was convinced it was her last meal.  Ever.  So that took a bit of distraction technique to get her away from that circle of thoughts.  We talked about Mom and Dad's early working lives.  Something I knew very little about.  My Dad started working for the cola board testing calorific values!  

Anyway.  It's been a bit of a stressful day in a few ways.  I took myself off down the garden for a bit of therapeutic pruning this afternoon and came back ready to cook and face the rest of the day!

I was interested in the reflections in the hairdressers while I was waiting for Mom to have her hair done.  A big thank you to Jackie and people like her who work so hard to help those living with dementia sustain some semblance of normality...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.