The old ways

We've been on the water for almost a week now, driving the boat, operating locks, eating together, washing up, showering in the hot water that has cooled the engine, chatting, having classes... and the days are beginning to merge into each other. I don't know what happens to the time but it moves differently here.

I do know that I was driving when we went under Thrapston Viaduct and I risked going off course by snatching a photo.

I later learnt it was built in1921-22 to replace an earlier iron and timber viaduct and was last used by trains in 1963. It is apparently now used as a footpath so I hope the elevated trees are managed and not left to damage the structure.

Then we twisted and turned with the river past lakes and sluices through Wellingborough and on to Earls Barton to moor for the night.

Once every course John cooks haggis with neeps and tatties, and reads Burns's Address to a Haggis in his best Scottish accent as we all toast it with whisky. This time one of our students from Marseille got out his trumpet and piped it in with Auld Lang Syne.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.