The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Reservoir days

CleanSteve and I got up even later than usual, I skipped the salmon-and-eggs course for breakfast, then we headed off to a nearby reservoir for some birdwatching.

In my case, I just sit and think, or read my book, while Steve does the birdwatching! But it was very peaceful: the only sounds were the occasional leaping of a fish in the water, the cry of a lone bird, or the voices of the fishermen drifting across the water.

We stayed there an hour or more. As we were leaving, a fisherman asked if we had a spare lead weight, by any chance! Oh no, we just come here for the photography, we replied.

The next trip took us to the swimming pool, where I managed twenty six widths. The pool was quiet, and we went to the bar afterwards, and Steve's beer came with a tapa of a few chips and some cubes of cooked pork fat. I ate it, just because I could, even though pork fat doesn't usually go with ice cream. We're leaving this region tomorrow, so I doubt we'll be offered it again.

It's now 7.30pm and a great torpor has descended over the assembled company. I think I might pour myself a glass of Asturian cider.

Later: we revived ourselves. I had a G and T with the boys, and then some neighbours phoned and invited us to see their chickens on their Huerta (plot of land) where the husband had just built two fine new chicken sheds out of palettes. We went back to the house to eat, and I drank the rest of the cider, then out to the square for a drink (red wine with fizzy water). On returning to the house, CleanSteve offered to show G and B his Sri Lanka slide shows, as they are planning to go there. We had some brandy. Actually it's not even brandy, it's called 'Bebida Espirituosa'. A very spiritual drink! Slips down nicely.

Great to see the pics again, and remember our holiday there. After the second brandy, Iwent to bed hiccupping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.