Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Museum Of Army Flying

I left my campsite this morning and headed for home - not too early but early enough to hopefully avoid the extra Bank Holiday traffic. But first I stopped at the Museum of Army Flying between Salisbury and Andover at the British Army Headquarters. I had heard that you could sit in the cafe and watch helicopters take off and land and I WAS ready for a coffee. Unfortunately there seemed to be no flying activity today!

The museum is supposed to be very interesting but I wasn’t in the mood for a military museum today, so I just walked around some of the outdoor exhibits before having a coffee and that was enough for me today!  But I would like to go back another time.  The museum gets rave reviews from everyone I’ve talked to.

Top Left: Westland Scout AH MK1 Helicopter
Top Right: ZSU 23-4 ‘Shilka’, a Soviet anti-aircraft gun
Bottom Left: The Army Flying Memorial
Bottom Right: de Havilland Canada Beaver DHC-2 Beaver AL1

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.