rower2012

By rower2012

Orange Assassin Bug


Paladian tell me this pretty little monster is called - Gminatus australis. This suggests to me that our orange version I found today in our garden may only be found "down under". No doubt Nigel will fill me in on this information. See him best in LARGE.

Having seen the amazing macros coming from Paladian's camera and monopod setup, I felt it was time to do something on behalf of the male blippers who love macros. With the new James Bond movie opening in Adelaide next week, I thought that something tough and macho would be suitable. More so than a butterfly!

Imagine my pleasure in finding this little tough guy! I know Paladian blipped one of these last week, but I really like this different angle, making this a very different image to her version. You can clearly see the wicked looking proboscis, which I have on the greatest authority, he rams into the soft body of another insect, and sucks its innards out. Very James Bond I would say.

I do hope you finished your meal before you read this. They are evil little things, but only if you are another bug that is not too much bigger than this one. Would love to catch him in the act - but that is probably pushing it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.