MM241 ... My Comfort Zone

Anywhere near this (IKEA) bookcase is enough to remind me of who I am and what makes me happy.  To be fair, there were other 'candidates' -- my desk and the driver's seat of my car, but the feeling isn't quite the same.  When I see my bookcase, I'm home instantly.

Today was the first day I stood in front of a class again.  An easy day.  To make sure I was on time, I made sure I woke up early, but I still left too late in the morning so that I was at the mercy of a couple of A16 traffic jams, both of which posed a serious risk.  I should adjust again.  True to my resolutions, I parked at my usual place and I brought my own food.  While driving home, though, there were traffic jams again, spread throughout most of the A16, so that I suddenly became very sleepy in the car and had to fight the feeling by turning up poor Paul McCartney even more.  Two-thirds on the way, I decided to rest at a filling station, and then I realized that I was out of breath, perspiring profusely, and shaking from top to toe -- hypoglycemia!  Instead of napping, I got out of the car and walked to the station for a quick bite, and discovered that Starbucks had just opened an outlet inside.  Their egg-and-bacon sandwich was fluffy and yummy!  I decided to eat it right there instead of having it wrapped up and dashing back to the car.  After I had eaten, the awful sensations disappeared and I was able to drive decently the rest of the way.  And thus ended my first teaching day of the new schoolyear.

Took a peek at the MM241 entries ... some real beauties there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.