Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Just because ...

Just because we were eating in mid-afternoon when the sun was shining in on the table; just because the Chablis was cold and flinty and lovely, just because the glass itself was sparkly Edinburgh crystal and looked good ...

And take that last back another layer: we're drinking out of 1970s size glasses because one or other of us has broken so many of our large, modern wine glasses that let you smell the wine and do swirly things with it that there are only four left and there's every chance we might want to drink with another couple and  find we didn't even have these if we go on using them in a careless, geriatric sort of way. (The last casualty happened when I caught the very tip of my finger in the rim of my glass and gently - really gently - tipped it over on my way to the pepper grinder. It broke comprehensively and messily.)

So now we drink out of Edinburgh crystal, a present once upon a time with its own sad story that I won't relate here. I think we maybe drink slightly less as a result ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.