The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Rory McLeod, under the infra-red lights

Rory McLeod, one man band:
https://youtu.be/_XPXxQDukBg

What a day! Thursday mornings at nursery are going to be challenging. Good job I'm only doing them for another six weeks! There were also far too many visiting therapists in to assess our special educational needs children, considering it was day 1 or 2 of settling-in.

I went home afterwards and gave a massage, which used up yet more energy, then chilled out over watching TV and unpacking my Christmas stock (yes, really). Made cauliflower cheese, (my Gf version, I'm working on the dairy free one, with mustard) for supper, with ham and salad, then rushed out to the Goods Shed.

Down by the station there's a listed building, an original Brunel Goods Shed. It's been made useable and vandal-proof after many years of neglect, and is home to time-limited art installations, and the odd gig or two. CleanSteve helped to bring electricity to the building: the initial cable laying and connection cost £30K at 2010 prices!

The shed is still very cold, hence the infra red heaters. Tonight's gig included Stroud's own poets Johnny Fluffypunk and Elvis McGonagall, whom I believe is now a national treasure and can be heard on the radio. Then came Johnny Solstice and, finally, the star turn, Rory McLeod.
I think I might have seen him at Glastonbury in 1998. Then again, I might have seen someone else...

Rory is a man out of time, but not rhyme. He's a folkie and a pacifist and possibly the best harmonica player I've ever heard. He also likes to tap dance, play the spoons, and talk a lot between songs. What a strange and intense evening it was: marred only by some drunken hecklers. No time to talk to friends, but the fig went on till midnight!

Walked home afterwards and had achieved TWO ten minute brisk walks by the time I'd got home, according to my Active 10 app! Mind you, the app also told me that I'd walked to school in 14 brisk minutes (and one slow one!), so I think it might be inaccurate, to say the least.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.