The Druid Circle

I've had no choice but to work most of today, the price to be paid for my slow progress on Friday. I have to get certain things working so testing can begin in earnest and so the other members of the team can also contribute. But it's taken a long time again. There was one very subtle bug, introduced (I now realise) when putting a quick fix in place for another bug discovered when we were demonstrating in Holland. I'd forgotten all about it, and it manifested itself in some very weird behaviour. I really thought I was losing it this afternoon. Nothing made sense to me. But, ultimately, there is always a logic at work and eventually that reveals itself, as it did finally a short while ago. I was determined that I wasn't going to post my blip until I'd found the solution. For a while there I thought I'd end up back-blipping!

There were two highlights today. The first was watching Alistair Cook and Matt Prior bat out the best part of two sessions in the test match. It was an incredible feat of concentration from Cook and I only hope his gargantuan innings won't have been played in vain. The odds are still stacked against us, but there is hope. I'm currently working out for which time I should set the alarm. Forrest is determined to get up for the start of play at 4am, but I'm not convinced he'll make it out of bed at that hour.

It's amazing how patterns repeat. It was very much the same when I was a kid. My Dad and I used to get up at some ridiculous hour to listen the commentary on the radio when England played in Australia. I can't explain why it was so important, indeed why it remains so important to me to follow the cricket live. I think it's mostly about being involved in a shared experience, being witness to historic events. This form of cricket remains the most exciting not just to me, but to Forrest too. He's a child of the Twenty-20 era, but his first love is the 5 day game. I think I may just have talked myself into getting up with my lad. I think Roam wants to join in the fun too! Better make sure I'm stocked up with porridge!

The second highlight was a run on the moor, and finding my legs reasonably responsive. The day dawned very cold and bright and I just about got out before some high cloud passed over to dilute the sun. It's amazing that I've not blipped this stone circle before, although it has been blipped by others, even as recently as this week I've just realised, by Dr.Mackem (nice bit of writing too, by the way). Known as the Twelve Apostles, I've always called it the Druid Circle. It's history is not really that well understood but as it is sited at the crossroads of two very ancient routes across the moor it is likely to be thousands of years old. For those who might be interested there is a great article here.

It's almost 10pm and I've not made dinner yet. The boys are out and are going to be expecting something when they get in shortly. I better get with the plan! A very quick veggie curry is in order.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.