Street View

Our team moved to the top floor of our building a couple of weeks ago. The air conditioning wars have already begun. As a 'holier-than-thou' I refuse to participate and just carry a v-neck to put on if it's a bit cold. And take off if it's a bit warm. Then sit there like a smug (snug) git while the arguments (good natured for now but it's early days) ensue!

I do have good colleagues who always tell me if there's an opportunity to get a photo. I expect they think I'm a bit odd (I won't argue), and they gave me quick tip off today about a gorgeous sky and a bit of drama. Being on the top floor provided a good vantage point.

I went into the kitchen though to open the window to get the shot - I wouldn't have been forgiven if I'd upset the delicate truce by opening a window in the office bit!!!

Back at my desk Laura asked me if I'd photographed a fireman for her... I think there's one there somewhere!

Yesterday's photo I mentioned my notebook that a few people then asked about. As someone who works in IT and software I couldn't be without paper and pen to organise myself! I have a notebook that I carry in my camera bag where I note down any ideas I have that come to me for future photo's. I can't be the only one who's spotted a great opportunity for a photo but not been in a position to get it, and vowed to come back another time, only to forget what it was...

It's great for jotting down other things, like significant dates. You might hear about a meteor shower that you want to try and get, or the date of a full moon that's going to peek through the horizon when you know you'll be in a good position to try for a shot.

Sometimes I'll hear about a tip for taking shots in certain conditions and I can note down the details... aperture settings and so on, or I might see a great photo on blip and take a note of the settings so I can try something similar.

I've also got a 'wish list' that includes various filters, a few books, you know the type of thing :o)

I haven't actually been using it long but it's already invaluable. If you're going to do it, personally I'd get a 'nice' notebook, like a Moleskine or something. For me anyway I feel more inclined to use it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.