lovelife209

By mindful_life

Tiny Tuesday TT174

I have been trying to keep positivity in my day today and started off with a morning run. It was very fresh but I was prepared and layered up! The full moon was absolutely stunning and I did stop to take a photo but my phone camera did not do it justice!

I have a desk calendar at work that has daily quotes and I thought I would use today’s in my blip.

A man cannot make a pair of shoes rightly unless he do it in a devout manner. Thomas Carlyle

This is very similar to the sentiment I mentioned yesterday- mindfulness and being totally in the moment. We ought to try and be totally engaged in the moment and do our best wholeheartedly whatever that is.

This evening I cooked an early dinner for the children as my son has 90 minutes of swimming at 7pm so has to digest it first! I cooked salmon with a Chinese style marinade I made myself with some rice and vegetables and I made it look pretty on their plates. So much so that my daughter asked if I was getting ready for masterchef! And then I cooked myself a lentil and split pea Dahl from a recipe in a vegan magazine. I am not vegan although I would choose to eat vegan all the time if I could. My husband doesn’t agree with it and doesn’t think it is a good example to set for the children. I was quite proud tonight as I made this and ate it knowing there may be some remarks!! Anyway, whilst cooking I made sure I was totally in the moment, tasting it mindfully as it cooked, chopping the ingredients carefully and patiently and it paid off! I thought it was delicious!

My photo is of the embroidery in the front of the shoes I wore at my sisters wedding - I thought it apt for my quote and for Tiny Tuesday but you can see they are not perfect as there is a flaw in it. However these shoes, however pretty, are mass produced and therefore the care and attention given when they were made would not have been devout.

I hope you have all had a lovely day and been devout in your enterprises today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.