Avocado flower

Small and on it's own an insignificant wee thing. But an interesting one. It opens for 2 or 3 hours one day and is active as a female. That is it can receive pollen and become fertilised. Then it closes. Next day it will open again, this time active as a male, that is able to shed pollen. Only for a few hours then closed for good. There are enough flowers doing this on a daily basis for flowering to last up to 6 weeks and cover the entire tree on an "on" season" as here . When I went to get this shot I thought I'd missed the boat, they're nearly all done. Thousands of tiny little pinhead sized avocados out there. But there are a few still going so I managed to get the shot I'd promised Marinakari I'd blip. And today is her 100 blipday !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.