Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Book group hoots!

Sometimes meetings of our book group are about so much more than the book in question, and tonight was one of those nights.

We have a new member who has shaken us out of our tendency to cover old ground, and has led the conversation in some new and interesting directions! This evening the conversation brought some previously unknown connections to the fore. The one which had me roaring was the fact that one of our number had not only inhabited the same student flat as I did, but in fact the same bedroom! A few years apart, of course, but by the sound of things we had much more fun in that flat than she did. When I said that there had been five of us in the flat, she exclaimed that there were only 4 bedrooms. Which reminded me of poor Dave, who got relegated to the box room. I'm going to have to dig out the photo album which features some of the parties we had there - ah, good times.

The other connection was that our new member had attended the same school as I did, although she was there some time after me, but in the years between my two younger brothers. This of course led to some chat about teachers at which point she revealed a particular fondness for one of the staff. I met this with hoots of laughter. This particular teacher is now a happily retired parent of a friend of my daughter's. small world...

The book, in case you're hanging on to find out the verdict, was enjoyed by all. Based on a true story, we were all gripped enough to see it through to the end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.