Paula

I went for my first walk on Front Street since returning home after being away for a month and of course, after Florence had visited.  As I was peering into the Port City Java, this woman walked by and said it was closed.  I read the sign.  It was closed permanently.  This was the first of a local chain of coffee shops in the area.  It was also featured in the pilot of the long running tv show "One Tree Hill".  

Paula has lived in Wilmington for 10 years, is retired and walks downtown about 3 days per week.  

There are a lot more problems downtown then I thought.  Many shops are still closed due to the hurricane, and it will be a while before everything is back to normal.  The extras include the Java Dog Cafe, open and thriving, and Water Street, next to the Cape Fear River.  No reason to question the name of this street.  The river is very high and smells bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.