Spotty

My stepdaughter had me seeing spots before my eyes when she blew in (literally in this case) to deliver my trendy shopping trolley (extra image ) before flying to London for work. I hope the jazzy new addition will counteract any preconceived ideas about shopping trolleys and old age- perish the thought!

I am struggling to write anything else positive about the day even though the sun is shining and the wind is blowing away any cobwebs. As you know I tend towards ranting and the overcrowding of Central Edinburgh with hordes of tourists and language schools can set me going as soon as I put a foot over the doorstep which is what happened today as I went shopping.
It might be expected that by the second week in October the crowds would have thinned, but not a bit of it. Other citizens are beginning to complain too. The crime novelist Val McDermid has gone on the airwaves to complain that the volume of tourists in Edinburgh risks “tearing up the fabric of the city”. It’s comforting to know I’m not alone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.