A full on day! Into Bantry early so Himself could have a blood test and then straight on to Cork where I had a meeting with a fellow holy well enthusiast! Olive was delightful - she's just compiled a book re all the holy wells in County Waterford and was offering advice and encouragement. I then had a rush around the city attempting to find some boots. I was horrified at the prices, astounded at the generally ghastly clothes and passing through Brown Thomas (posh department store) in search of the loo staggered at the trowel-fuls of makeup everyone was wearing - what is it about those seriously thick painted on eyebrows?? I found some boots, gasped at the price, dithered then bit the bullet. Then on to meet Himself for a cuppa. I can truly say, after living with him for 41 years, he really managed to surprise me. I thought he had been off buying stuff for his new found enthusiasm for sewing, but no - he had had a tattoo!! A walking man symbol on his wrist!  I will attempt a sneaky blip shortly! Envious actually, I think I need one now!

On the way back a quick stop off to check out a well in a deserted farmyard. Now all ploughed up but one more to knock off the list.

Back to Bantry and the most incredible light was going on. No time to go home (Arthouse later) so we did a coastal walk and just gasped at the colours. Still time left so we went and had a drink in Ma Murphy's (remember Rainie!) and I had the most colossal gin and tonic - Dingle gin with elderflower tonic and a twist of grapefruit. Boy it was good!
Then chips with our friends  followed by a very good arthouse - Summer 1993 - a story of loss and grief, the two very young girls were incredible. Then collapse!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.