'Luminous Emptiness'

I doubt that there's a week goes by that I don't think about giving up recording my radio show, Electronic Ears. Every week, the pressure of putting a playlist together - around twenty songs that I think are not only good and/or interesting but that I can talk about - but also finding a couple of hours at the weekend to record it. 

And then there's the perennial question of whether anyone's actually listening. A few months ago, the station manager told me they'd like to repeat the show every week. "Blimey!" I thought. "Sure!" I said. So now, in addition to its 7pm Sunday slot, the show is also broadcast at 5am on Sunday mornings. Good times. for the electronica-loving weekend shift-workers!

But one great thing about Electronic Ears, the positive that overrides all the negatives, is that it keeps me listening to new music. This year, for example and off the top of my head, I have discovered Zoë Blade, The Delia Derbyshire Appreciation Society, and the outfit that recorded my favourite song of the year (so far), Craven Faults

The thing is, though , I don't necessarily expect anyone else to like them and, perversely, it's when I play a sixteen minute long modular synth epic on a Sunday evening that I think maybe it may be better if no one is listening. But then I will come across something that I think *everyone* would love and a good example of that is Hang Massive.

I love these guys. From what I can make out, they live six months of the year in Goa, which may go towards explaining the amazing video for 'The Secret Kissing of the Sun and Moon'. They play the hang drum and the result is, I think, simply beautiful. And tranquil. 

Anyway, they've just released their new album, 'Luminous Emptiness', which arrived today. I highly recommend it. (I'm not on commission.)

****
I didn't weigh myself :-/
0 words
Reading: 'The Liars' Gospel' by Naomi Alderman

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.