Force Gill wanderings

A plan for a quick fast blast in the hills. 
Sat at Ribblehead viaduct (extra) I set off knowing already that the Yorkshire 3 Peaks route didn't appeal, too many people.

At Force Gill falls I consulted the map - the joy of open access land, and decided to follow the Gill to its source. A wonderful wending journey across the open fell, following features and bearings, inquisitively intuitive, the journey the whole point. 
The hillsides are currently ablaze with the burnished bronze of the bracken, and under the bright blue sky the Gill sparkled lines of glitter into the limestone that seemed to say come hither. 
At Greensett the map says "shake holes" and in a tight little cleft of limestone, little bigger than the grikes, I found where the Gill emerges into the light of day after its journey underground. I spent a goodly while at the Tarn, I should have swam, it felt a good place to wash away the worries of the world. . I hadn't seen a soul, so instead I sat and pondered in my solitude and even managed to write a few words for the first time in a while. 

Finally I climbed up the steep front of Whernside, and with an obtuse pleasure turned away from the crowded summit and made my way back fast against the flow of people. 
Home for a late lunch. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.