Return to the North

By Viking

Not a whale!!!

Finally people might realise that TeeJay and I aren't quite joined at the hip! She, I and my family headed to kaikoura for a brief weekend this weekend. We obviously took good weather with us because it has been glorious (over 25 degrees this morning! bear this in mind as you read on!!!!!!!)

When I visited NZ as tourist nearly 10 years ago I went whale watching - and it was a great experience, but not one I need to repeat - I've seen a whale's tail! What more is there to say?
Added to this I am more of a hiker than a sailor by nature so I wanted to make the most of the good weather and hike the Kaikoura coastal path rather than waste 3-4 hours on a boat in the hope of spotting said tail. So I dropped my mum off in Kaikoura itself to do some tourist shopping then I headed out to beyond the Fyfeshire residence and out on to the coastal path for a 2.5 hour walk. Uphill, downnhill and down to the coastline itself. It was great. Saw jellyfish, was attacked by nesting seagulls and basically had a great time. All in 25 degree heat (and yep I got sunburn!)
If you want to see other shots check here- really picked up the blues and greens of the coast and sea and the jellyfish was an amazing colour.

I chose this shot because it gives a little perspective - i had walked up a hill which was to the left of the shot and then 10-15 mins after this was taken I was climbing the back of the 'dragon' shaped rock at the bottom, looking out to sea:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.