My elementary lip-reading skills...

... seemed to indicate that she was muttering what I was thinking.

We were both at the departure board at York Station. 

Our journey from Perth had started over four hours earlier when we heard our train was running a few minutes late. When it eventually left Perth we were running 15 minutes late, with the assurance that we would catch up some time. 

As the journey progressed the delay extend and we arrived in York just in time to see our supposed connection for Harrogate departing from a nearby platform. 

That meant an hour waiting around the increasingly inhospitable York Station.

My anger increased when I was told by a member of LNER staff that there is no such thing as a connecting service any more. With trains being run by different operators, they simply refuse to delay their departure, even for a couple of minutes, so that passengers can transfer across a platform.

My thoughts were not very polite but my letter of complaint will be pointedly terse,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.