Stitches...

I have had a random lump on my face... it's been there for a couple of years but suddenly it started to change shape and got a bit bigger so today I went to hospital to have a biopsy done. They have no idea what it is but I'm fairly confident it's nothing to worry about touches wood and I'll get the results in 6-8 weeks. My Mum suffers from basal cell carcinoma so it made sense to check there's nothing sinister. The doctor said I was too young... yes she actually said that out loud... but that it wasn't unheard of or that it could be some fancy schmancy name that I can't remember gland or something else altogether that I have no idea what it was... I should probably have written them down but I didn't.

I suspect the surgeon thought that it wasn't anything major either cause she drew round it and said that she was going to take 1cm out rather than doing a 'punch' biopsy like I even know what that is! I thought that seemed like a lot but when I changed the dressing earlier it looks like she's removed the whole lump. I guess I'll need to go back for them to dig deeper if it is something more sinister but she's made a great job of the stitches, for some reason I thought they'd be horizontal rather than vertical but she made me make faces at her before she started to see which way my skin creases. The first injection wasn't pleasant, nor was the second one after she poked me with the scalpel and asked if I could feel it... um that would be a yes!! Whilst I couldn't feel it, I could feel her working... I've never had stitches before and that made me feel a little queasy. I have quite a high pain threshold and a tiny squeamish threshold.

Both doctors wanted to make sure I was aware that I would have a scar but really I'm not that fussed about that stuff. I can't decide if I should be fussed but apparently war wounds add character! My specs will hide it I think but it hurts to put them on at the moment. I look like a bit of a dick with a plaster across my face so obviously the sensible thing to do was to go sit in the window at Wagamamas for lunch. Thanks Mum! x

On the way home some random passed me and said "Awwww doll... you've hurt your face!!" Yeah no shit Sherlock!! The dressing needs to stay there for at least 48 hours so I guess I'll have weirdo stares on the way to work tomorrow too.

Big thank you to everyone for yesterday's trip to spotlight for Pugnacious Edward - he has a name on a label stuck to his arse that for 20 years I've never noticed! Oops!

140 sleeps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.