Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

A Fungi Flower

Very early safari today, started clicking at 05:30am. What a great session, I just seemed to nail everything today and ended up with seventeen images to choose from. "So, where's the bug" I hear you exclaim! Well, I did say that my blip choices may be a bit different in future. This image was by far the most interesting find of the day for me.

At first sight I immediately thought of a discussion quite some time ago, with a fellow blipper ('Kendallishere' or 'Ceridwen' sorry if wrong) about the absence of fungi in my journal. Finally, I thought I might be able to correct that omission. This funky flower grew about six inches off the ground, about two and a bit inches across and no leaves. A single white disc petal, supported by a stem that looked just like a shroom.

I examined the underside of the petal but there was nothing there. I didn't want to probe any further and risk damaging the bloom, so I got down and dirty to collect the shot. The yellowish coating of what looks like dust on the top surface is actually early morning dew.

I tried a bit of research. Lots of articles about fungi looking flowers, but I did not find any information on this one. Perhaps one of you horti-blipists could help out here.

Update - Identification - Parasola plicatilis a species of ink cap shroom (thanks Mollyblobs).

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.