Poppy Cascade

This morning I popped into the village church to see the Poppy Cascade made from crocheted poppies which is on display in the village church. It looks very striking, especially with the silhouettes in the pews.  It was displayed on the castle tower at the fete on August Bank Holiday Monday but missed it as I was at the folk festival.

The leaves are looking beautiful so I've put a shot of the village castle as an extra.

This afternoon I went to the Bowling Group Christmas lunch at a local pub. The meal was delicious, especially the pistachio and raspberry tart!

I was sat in an unfortunate spot though. There were some people that I didn't know - guests of the organiser. Their conversation was their illnesses, operations that had gone wrong, hospital acquired infections and people that had died unexpectedly. It was quite depressing so if I'd known them I'd have attempted to divert the conversation. As it was, I kept talking to F to try to block it out but it's amazing how loud voices will keep creeping into your head!

My new compost bin has arrived wrapped in the most massive cardboard box fastened with half a roll of sellotape - a label on the bin itself would have been enough. It could have been wrapped in plastic though which would have been worse, at least I can compost the cardboard. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.