Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Silver, gold and copper

Yesterday I had a busy and slightly stressful day, involving a drive to the Cambridge area, five hours discussing and tweaking a report with a colleague, followed by a tortuous journey back through the fens in the dark. At Chatteris I decided to take a route which kept me on main roads, but just as I turned onto the A141 there was a crash ahead and the road was closed, so I sat for nearly an hour before plucking up the courage to do a three-point turn and head back to the roundabout to get home on the minor roads. So, no photographs.

This afternoon Chris, Pete and I went for an afternoon walk round Holme Fen. We arrived in glorious sun, which was quickly eaten up by gloomy clouds. I'd also forgotten how quickly the sun sets now the clocks have gone back. But the autumn colours were vibrant - I always love the contrast between the silvery-white of the birch trunks, their golden-yellow foliage and the burnished copper of the bracken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.