Modern art at the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum

The Dangerous book group has enjoyed another fabulous day of food, art, walking, and talking in Madrid.

We started with breakfast in a French patisserie. Then we walked to the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum. Here we spent a couple of hours, first of all in a temporary exhibition of works by Beckmann. Then ArcLight and I worked our way through two of the three floors of the permanent collection while the others conducted their own personal tours of the galleries. I would have liked to have stayed longer to see the pictures on the third floor, but paella for lunch was a greater priority. My blip is of some Cubist art that we found on the first floor of the museum.

This afternoon was dedicated to more walking, a bit of shopping, then amazing hot chocolate and churros in a basement café (see the extras). Then it was back to the apartment to collect our bags and head out to the airport.

I am typing this in the departure lounge at Madrid airport as the six of us wait for our return flight to Edinburgh. I should be back home some time after midnight. I am extremely grateful that I don't have to go to work in the morning!

See also the blips for today by Ridgeback 13, Winsford, and ArcLight.

Exercise today: walking (18,534 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.