Thirty No More

By MarkusMeerkat

Itchy ankles

My eldest (C) told me yesterday he wanted to read Misery.

He's 10!

I said I didn't think it was a book that was appropriate for someone of his age to read.

I watched the film tonight (rated 15 in the UK), and then started to try and remember the differences between book and film.

The main difference as I recall is the 'hobbling' scene is far more gruesome in the book!

But here's the thing, in England he would have to wait 5 more years before he can (legally) watch the film, but could read the book now.

I've never really understood why moving pictures are age restricted but the written word is not?

I wondered why he had said about Misery in the first place so had a quick check on the bookshelf by the study. All the horrors seem to be present and correct, but I did notice a lego Harry Potter on the shelf, not mine, that he obviously left as a calling card whilst browsing what to read.

So I'm now wondering what horror story shall I let him read that will enthrall him, but is also suitable for his age.

Will have to go for one with limited bag language and sex (so that rules out most of the James Herbert ones aswell as the bulk of Stephen King).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.