Coal Train

Today was open studio day. I worked on this painting which is for a show next June. I am in the middle of the painting. I'm way ahead of the curve but I wanted to do it now because I had the canvas ready and it fits in with the last painting I did. Check this out in large "L".

The show is called "Coal Train" and is about the new coal shipping terminal that a huge company is planning to build in Bellingham. The main product to be shipped from the terminal is raw coal to China. There is a heavy push by the company, the railroad, and local unions to make it happen. I happen to believe that it is a terrible idea. The trains will run along between the new waterfront area and the rest of Bellingham and the larger tracks and siding will impact one of our local parks.

The biggest issue for me is the coal itself. It is dirty and dangerous to those who mine it. And it will have a big negative effect on the pristine environment of our city. Not to mention the fact that when the coal is burned in China, the pollution will drift over to land on, guess where? Bellingham.

The supporters are claiming this terminal will bring jobs to Bellingham and it might. But it will also take some away which they don't factor into their plans. What tourists will want to come to a coal besmirched city. And what about the lost jobs sent to China being fueled by our coal. I really care about this because I love this city where I live.

More information Here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.