Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Three for the price of one!

Swimming today - Leo, not me. And not really swimming, but lots of hilarity and splashing and playing with watering cans - he's really enjoying it now. It's great entertainment - they could sell tickets for it - and there were a couple of grandparents there to enjoy their wee tot having fun. The photos that COULD have been taken! *sigh*

Went home with Leo and his mum. I had to keep passing bits of an eggy sandwich (had to take out the cress bits first) to Leo, who then fell asleep in the car after his exertions, so his mum and I had a leisurely lunch.

After lunch I wandered down to Newhaven Harbour and was delighted to find that they'd left the gate to the lobster pot pier open. I pretended I hadn't seen the 'Private' sign and took a wander along, being careful not to trip up and fall in - they probably would have left me to fend for myself, as technically, I shouldn't have been there.

I walked along to Leith, in the company of a Chinese woman who was going back to work after a lunchtime walk. She'd lived here 10 years. Her husband is a research scientist at the University. She was saying how much she liked Samoa, and I told her I'd lived in NZ for a while. She looked a bit puzzled. She was talking about 'summer'. She likes the Scottish summer weather! Although not this summer.

I then went to Leith. I was right at the harbour end, out on a dock thingie, looking back at the town. It was very sunny, so I decided to use my ND filter and do a long exposure. When I'd finished, I was packing up, and took off the filter, and - oh, I can hardly bare to write this - I dropped it!!! It rolled a wee bit, and my heart sank. How would I explain away this one? There were spaces between the big planks, and of course an edge... But I am relieved to say, it stopped safely. Another lesson learned? Possibly.

I went to take a few SPs with the statue on the bench. I wanted to see how much easier it was to use the infra red remote, rather than pressing and running. But these two chaps came along, fresh from a long lunch at a nearby hostelry (of which there are many).

'Why are you taking a photo of our friend?' they enquired.

'Because I always do when I'm here.'

Turns out, they were the friends of this chap, Sandie Irvine Robertson OBE, who had the statue made in his honour. They regaled me with many stories of their pal, who sounded quite a character if all was to be believed. They were happy to pose. I'll send them a few photos.

Three for the price of one! Bargain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.