Life through the lens...

By ValC

We remember still.

We all enjoyed our evening. Much laughter, and after all the food and drink, had a lie and a lazy morning.
However as the sun came out this afternoon. I decided on a walk out .
Across the fields, I met a lady who has just moved into the village. We had a lovely chat, and it is nice to learn she and her husband have already settled in and love it here.

I haven’t walked through the church yard since last weekend.and was quite moved to see so many poppy wreaths on many of the graves.
Mostly ones from World War Two, ( see extra)

However this one, which I have passed many times, was very poignant.
I have never read the inscription before;

“ Died in Birmingham Hospital from Gas Poisoning received in action.
Sept. 3rd 1918.
Aged 34.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.