Turtles All The Way Down

By Stacebob

Eventful

Well, last night's palpitations ended up in an almost-midnight trip to A&E. I felt supremely guilty about it, because I know that actually it's nowhere near as serious as it sounds, and I knew they'd keep me overnight in a bed that really should go to someone else, but after over 6hrs of palpitations and a call to 111, I knew I needed to get my rhythm regulated. As it was a heart-related issue, I was seen straight away, and most of the staff seemed slightly bamboozled that I was walking around and feeling relatively fine with a heartrate of 215bpm. I got taken into resus which is when I started panicking; I'm terrified of needles and I knew a cannula and an injection were coming. I'm not sure why (possibly I was their first case of Wolff-Parkinson-White syndrome in quite a while so people were intrigued?), but I attracted quite a crowd of health professionals who all watched my heart rate with great interest as the drug to regulate it was given. Rich said it was so weird to watch because it looked like my heart had completely stopped for a few beats, then when it kicked back in it was still pretty high. It slowly went down to a normal-ish bpm; I'm pretty convinced the initial rise after the drug was purely down to the anxiety (partly because of the needles, but also partly because they fitted me with defibrillator pads before giving the drug, "just in case"..!) After they were sure I was OKish, they informed me I had to stay overnight for observation, and to see a cardiologist in the morning. Rich headed home whilst I was moved up to the ward where I didn't sleep a wink (partly due to the noise and lights, partly due to me not being able to sleep whilst on my back and partly because it was absolutely effing roastingly warm up there). A doctor came to assess me at around 8am, and luckily I managed to convince him that I didn't need to see a cardiologist (I already know what's wrong with me and how to deal with and medicate it) so he managed to get me discharged with a prescription. Unfortunately the nursing staff were super busy so I didn't get my cannula removed until 9:15am. All I wanted to do was go home and sleep, however I was told I needed to go back to the hospital later to pick up my meds as they wouldn't be delivered til about 1pm. After travelling home, a cuppa and bacon sammy a la Rich, and a shower to get rid of the residue from the zillions of ECG pads I'd had stuck to me, there wasn't really any time for a nap before heading back out to get my prescription. Rich came with me to ensure I didn't fall asleep on the journey, and luckily there wasn't a long wait for the meds. 

I'm now back at home curled on the sofa, basically counting down the hours til bedtime!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.