Just a small section of Susan’s magnificent tree

A day in Wittersham Road Signalbox on the first weekend of the Santa Specials. Seven return trips between Tenterden Town and Northiam, each packed with happy looking people (as far as I could see)

Yesterday I had a match observer watching me refereeing. Today I had a railway assistant inspector watching me work the box as part of the rolling assessments for all signalmen. His visit turned out to be less of an event than I expected but I was still pleased when he announced that he was finished.

Apart from the visit it was a busy if easy and repetitive day in the box. No crossing of trains. They came, went, came back and went on their way so there was something to do every 10 minutes or so.

While I was on the railway Susan was busy putting up the Christmas decorations. And what another marvellous display it is. A railway blip was not an easy choice today so I give you just a glimpse of one of Susan’s trees.

Next Sunday I’m at Tenterden Town which is where the Santa Specials start and finish. Never been in the box at Tenterden on an event day so I’m looking forward to the hustle and bustle after the isolation of Wittersham Road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.