Gone but not Forgotten

Please don’t jump to conclusions even though you see before you an empty gin bottle. It may be ‘Mother’s Ruin’ but it is certainly a widow’s solace.
This bottle has languished in the drinks cupboard for at least a year if not longer, but with my present penchant for help in self anaesthetising, I admit I have finished off the dregs, but not all at once of course, just a modest tipple with tonic water or Appeltiser on some evenings. I may even have added a drop or two to the raspberry liqueur last week, I really can’t remember, life is a blur at the moment.

I had the task this morning of handing all His Lordship’s unused medicines back to the chemist from whence they came. I found it very embarrassing to know that however hard up the NHS is, these unopened boxes of drugs will be destroyed rather than being reissued or even sent to third world countries.
I only hope that the 8 pairs of reading glasses I found lurking in his bedside drawer can at least be of some use in these same countries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.