Meet Chester and Casper

I made a slow start as my train South didn't leave Newcastle until 3pm. Did some last minute chores then headed for the bus. Got to the station in good time. Train was already full as it had come from Edinburgh and there was no room on luggage rack for my case. But with the help of a kind young man I managed to move a few things around like a jigsaw and we managed to fit my case in and also another large case too.

Found my reserved seat and settled down for the journey. A few delays along the way meant we were over 30 mins late arriving at King's Cross. This meant I had missed my connection to Sussex. Asked at info what I should do next. Told to go down 2 escalators to platform A and get on the Brighton train which was leaving in 2 mins. As I reached the bottom of 2nd escalator this train was pulling away. Missed it.

Checked the board for the next Brighton train. It was at 7pm. Only it was showing as cancelled.. Next Brighton train.. 7.20pm. So I advised Becky of the situation and settled down to wait for train. Came in on time and was fairly empty. This one was also delayed at London Bridge by a broken down train in front. Eventually got to Wivelsfield - Beckys station - at 8.37pm (original arrival time was supposed to be 7.28pm)

Becky and Mike were there to meet me and we walked to their house. Mike then went for fish and chips. What a treat.

I have met Becky and Mike's cats for the first time - sweet Chester the ginger one aged 3 and beautiful white Casper aged 7. They got them just over a year ago from the local Cats Protection.

So it's after midnight and I'm ready for bed. Becky and I are going to Brighton tomorrow..... on the train. Hopefully it will go like clockwork.

Steps today - 11,428

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.