Oberon and Titania

The memory fades like a dream in the moments after waking.

We can never really remember dreams. We either forget them immediately or, if we try to fix them in our minds by repeating them to ourselves, then we remember - not the dream - but the story that we told ourselves.

Already, my memories of them are disappearing. I have an after-image of light and of sounds that resemble the resonances that follow the striking of a bell. And, without needing to repeat them, I know that their names are still, for the moment, present within my consciousness. But should I let the memories evaporate, leaving nothing but a sense of magical connection? Or should I attempt to preserve them at the cost of knowing that what survives must be partial and imperfect?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.